Skip to content
AHS Athletics

Ames High Little Cyclones logo

Ames High athletics is home to the most team state championships in Iowa High School Athletic Association and Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union history. We compete in over 20 different sports making “Ames Hi, Aims High” more than a motto. It is a standard of excellence to be reached by our teams, coaches, and fans each contest and each season.

Online Athletic Registration

Calendar of Events

Ames High Sports Network

Ames High Sports Camps

Good Conduct Rule – Board Policy 503.4

The Iowa High School Athletic Association details eligibility requirements in the IHSAA Handbook (starting page 31). Local boards of education may impose additional eligibility requirements not in conflict with these rules.

Heads Up! Concussion Awareness Fact Sheet 

On-The-Road Location Guide

Parent Handbook

Ames CSD Venues

CIML Athletic Venues

Ames High Athletic Boosters

Click the heading to expand and see the head coach information for each sport by season. 

Football – Brian Sauser
brian.sauser@ames.k12.ia.us

Boys Cross Country – Ravi Bhave
ravi.bhave@ames.k12.ia.us

Girls Cross Country – Cole Anderson
cole.anderson@ames.k12.ia.us

Boys Golf – RJ Voss
rj.voss@ames.k12.ia.us

Girls Swimming & Diving – Joe Fisher
joe.fisher@ames.k12.ia.us

Volleyball – Meg Williams
meg.williams@ames.k12.ia.us

Fall/Football Cheer – Dana Logan
dana.logan@ames.k12.ia.us

Boys Basketball – Vance Downs
vance.downs@ames.k12.ia.us

Girls Basketball – Christopher Harken
chris.harken@ames.k12.ia.us

Boys Swimming – Joe Fisher
joe.fisher@ames.k12.ia.us

Wrestling – Andy Fecht
andy.fecht@ames.k12.ia.us

Drill Team – Kelsie Vertanen
kelsie.vertanen@ames.k12.ia.us

Winter/Basketball & Wrestling Cheer – Dana Logan
dana.logan@ames.k12.ia.us

Girls Golf – RJ Voss
rj.voss@ames.k12.ia.us

Boys Soccer – Ryan McGowan
ryan.mcgowan@ames.k12.ia.us

Girls Soccer – Bobby Myers
bobby.myers@ames.k12.ia.us

Boys Tennis – John Hernandez
john.hernandez@ames.k12.ia.us

Girls Tennis – Tim & Anna Ellis
tim.ellis@ames.k12.ia.us, anna.ellis@ames.k12.ia.us

Boys Track & Field – TBA

Girls Track & Field – TBA

Baseball – Nick Steenhagen
nick.steenhagen@ames.k12.ia.us

Softball – Meghan Von Behren
meghan.vonbehren@ames.k12.ia.us

Juicebox Interactive