Skip to content

Articles from February 2016

Ames High School hosts Iowa Supreme Court

Ames High School will host the Iowa Supreme Court, at 7 p.m., Wednesday, March 2. The Court will present oral arguments on a criminal case in a session open to the public that will take place in the Ames High School Auditorium, 1921 Ames High Dr.

The evening session is part of an outreach effort to give the “public a first-hand look into how the legal system works at the state level,” Iowa Supreme Court Communications Director Steve Davis told The Ames Tribune.

“Right now, the Supreme Court traditionally hears oral arguments during the day at 9 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon, which is really not that convenient for people that might be curious, but are working or have other responsibilities,” Davis said in an article published by The Ames Tribune.

The oral arguments pertain to case no. 14-1112,  State of Iowa v. Kenneth Osborne Ary, from Polk County District Court. The State seeks further review after the court of appeals reversed and remanded appellant’s drug-delivery convictions based on alleged error in the jury selection process. The State contends that existing case law that Iowa should follow does not allow a presumption that an entire jury panel has become biased based on the comments of one prospective juror—in this case a pastor who explained his experience with drug dealers and criminal defendants.

A public reception with the supreme court justices will follow the oral arguments in the Ames High School media center. The reception is sponsored by the Story County Bar Association.

Justice Ed Mansfield will return to Ames High School to present to combined Ames High School Government classes in the Auditorium, Thursday, March 3, during second and third periods.

Attorneys’ briefs for the cases and a guide to oral arguments are posted on the Iowa Judicial Branch website.


Read More

Ames High School students named National Merit finalists

AMES–The National Merit® Scholarship Program has named 13 Ames High students as National Merit® finalists.

Nathan Chen, Karin Halverson, Hannah Hartmann, XinYuan Hu, Mattie Kupfer, Nicholas Leung, Caleb Litster, Aaron Mann, Isabel McLeod, Ben Popken, Benjamin Sulzberger, Alvin Tan and Robert White achieved the honor on the basis of their scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. They now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for nearly 8,000 Merit Scholarship® awards worth more than $32 million. Finalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state and represent less than one percent of the state’s seniors.

Read More

Elementary and Middle School students advance to You Be the Chemist State Challenge

Fifth and sixth grade students in the Ames Community School District competed in the You Be The Chemist Local Challenge at Meeker Elementary School, Saturday, February 13. The 30 students who participated qualified for the competition by taking a test in January. The Local Challenge put the students through a series of elimination rounds that tested them on high school level chemistry vocabulary and concepts.

Ten students advanced to the You Be The Chemist State Challenge, scheduled Saturday, April 16 at Iowa State University’s Hach Hall:

Adrian Guan and Sebastian Molina, from Edwards; Kieran Trotter, from Fellows; Josefina MacIntosh, from Mitchell; Lauren Powers, from Sawyer; and Sophia Cordoba, Jacob Stevens, Suya Que, Colin McLeod, and Rishabh Swamy, from Ames Middle School.

The winner of the State Challenge will advance to the National Challenge in Philadelphia, June 20.

The You Be The Chemist Challenges are sponsored by the Chemical Education Foundation, a national organization dedicated to advancing science education.

Read More

Tianxin Xu presents research in Washington, D.C.

Ames High School sophomore Tianxin Xu is presenting her research at the American Junior Academy of Science conference in Washington, D.C.,  Feb. 10 – 14.  Xu researched how common household Xuchemicals affect the growth of houseplants. She is one of only two Iowans selected to participate.

AJAS is the nation’s only honor research society for high school scientists. Each state’s Academy of Science selects the premier middle and high school researchers from their state to be lifetime fellows in AJAS.

The AJAS annual conference honors these students and inducts them as fellows into AJAS. The conference is always held in conjunction with the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s (AAAS) Conference.

Read more in The Ames Tribune.

Read More

Fellows Readathon Celebration

Dare you not to smile at this celebration of reading! Students raised about $12,000 by pledging to read more than 5,500 hours, in this school of about 500 students. Sponsored by the PTO, the fundraiser is in its fourth year. Local dignitaries came to “high five” students, including ISU mascot Cy. The drum line is from Ames High School.

Read More

Ames High School Presidential Scholar candidates

Eight students have been named candidates for the Presidential Scholars program.

Congratulations to:

  • Daniel Andreotti
  • Hannah Hartmann
  • Caleb Litster
  • Isabel McLeod
  • Jessica Rehmann
  • Kerry Strum
  • Ben Sulzberger
  • Alvin Tan.

Each year, up to 161 students nationwide are named Presidential Scholars. They receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. in June and receive a medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. Ames has 15 Presidential Scholars in its history, more than any other school in Iowa.

Read More
Juicebox Interactive