Congratulations to ten AHS students who were named Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition. The AHS students are: Adam Eichhorn, Lydia Grawe, Helen Hu, Johanna Krier, Grace Kim, Joanna Kim, Evan Lewis, Brennan Seymour, Sam Taylor and Chiara Travesset.    

These students represent the top 5% of all students who entered the competition. Commended students are named on the basis of a nationally applied selection index score that may vary from year to year and is below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship® awards, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.  Congratulations to our National Merit Commended Students!


Hannah Buckels

Amy Cyr

Melina Hegelheimer

Lydia Linch

Aubree Litster

Emily Wengert

Brayden Bergum

Cameron Campbell

Aiden Diggens-Kennedy

Tadeas Dress

Tye Erickson

Christian Frankl

Congratulations to AHS Homecoming Queen Melina Hegelheimer and King Aiden Diggens-Kennedy, Princess Emily Wengert and Prince Christian Frankl, who were crowned during the coronation assembly Friday afternoon.


Thank you to AHS Homecoming Co-Chairs Hope Morken and Lindsey Paysen for all the long hours they worked and the leadership they demonstrated to make Homecoming 2018 a big success. Thank you also to the student executive committee who were in charge of the various activities throughout the week. Finally, a huge thank you to AHS custodians and the parents who volunteered to help with the parade, fireworks, and the dance.


Join Girls Who Code to explore coding and technology in a fun, no pressure, friendly environment!  The Club meets on Wednesday evenings, 6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m., from October 10, 2018 – March 27, 2019 at the Ames Public Library (Danfoss Room). Laptops will be provided. Register at or show up to the Public Library on October 10 to get started. 


The following college representatives will be in Student Services. Please see Mrs. Evans in Student Services if you need a pass to visit with these college representatives.

Monday, September 24

9:20 AM Truman State University 

1:00 PM Carleton College 

2:15 PM Iowa Central Community College 

2:20 PM St. Olaf College 

Tuesday, September 25

1:00 PM Purdue University 

1:00 PM Coe College 

1:00 PM Creighton University

Wednesday, September 26

1:00 PM University of South Dakota

1:00 PM Kirkwood Community College

Monday, October 1

1:00 PM Hawkeye Community College 

Tuesday, October 2

1:00 PM Cornell College 


Friday, Sept. 21

FB-10 vs Hoover 4:45 PM

FB-V vs DSM North 7 PM

Saturday, Sept. 22

Volleyball-V at Boone 9 AM

Monday, Sept. 24

BGolf-JV/V at Ankeny 9 AM

BGolf-9 at Centennial Invite 11 AM

Volleyball-10 vs North Polk 6 PM

Tuesday, Sept. 25

BGolf-V at CIC 9 AM

B/G CC-JV/V at Waukee 4:30 PM

Volleyball-9A/9B/JV vs Ankeny 5 PM

Volleyball-V vs Ankeny 6:30 PM

Swim-JV/V at Johnston 5:30 PM

Thursday, Sept. 27

Volleyball-9 at Boone Invite 5 PM

FB-9 at DSM East 6 PM

FB-10 vs DSM East 6 PM

AHS Fall Youth Cheer Clinic 4:45-7 PM

Friday, Sept. 28

FB-V at Abraham Lincoln

Saturday, Sept. 29

Volleyball-V at Urbandale 8 AM

Sunday, Sept. 30

TASTE of Education hosted by Ames Education Foundation

5 PM Gateway Hotel and Conference Center (Tickets needed)