Skip to content
Board 15-6

School Board Meeting of September 25, 2017


Ames Community School District, September 25, 2017

Please join us for a reception for retiring Directors Mike Espeset, Tim Rasmussen and Bill Talbot and newly-elected Directors Monic Behnken, Jamet Colton and Gina Perez at 6 p.m.

Board members will assemble in the Boardroom, 2005 24th Street, on Monday, September 25 at 6:30 p.m. for a regular meeting. The Board respectfully requests that all cellular phones be turned off during the meeting.

Mission Statement: 

The mission of the Ames Community Schools is to ensure that all learners develop the knowledge, skills, attitudes, values, and personal esteem necessary to grow in and shape a changing society.

 Click for a Printable Version of the September 25, 2017 meeting agenda 

Approx. time

Item No.

Item Description

6:30 p.m.


Call to Order



Approval of Agenda and Reading of Mission Statement


Discussion Item(s)
Residents of the District, students attending the District, parents or guardians of students attending the District, and District staff members may address the Board about any topic relevant to the District whether on the current agenda or not. Those who wish to speak must sign up at the beginning of the meeting. Speaker participation is limited to three minutes once per item. The views and opinions of citizens addressing the Board do not necessarily reflect those of the Board, District administration, or staff. Speakers are to remember that Iowa law prohibits the Board from discussing specific employees, students or their performance. Student speakers will state their name and school. Others will state their name and address.

6:35 p.m. 3.

Follow up from discussion at the September 11 meeting regarding busing. Tim Taylor. 

(No Exhibit)

Public Comments

6:45 p.m. 4.

June 2017, July 2017, and August 2017 Financial Report and June 2017 Cash Balances. Chris Stensland. Exhibit D-1. Approval of Financial Reports is under Consent Item(s).

Public Comments

6:55 p.m.   Public Forum

Consent Item(s)

All items listed under Consent will be enacted by one motion.  There will be no separate discussion of these items unless a motion is made and approved, prior to the time Board members vote on the consent items, to remove the item from the Consent Items for further discussion.

7:15 p.m. 5. Minutes from meeting held September 11, 2017. Chris Stensland.
  6. Claims and Payroll for August 2017. Chris Stensland. Exhibit C-1.
  7. Financial Reports for June, July and August 2017 (refer to
Exhibit D-1). Chris Stensland
  8. Personnel Reports. Lisa Negus. Exhibit C-2.

Gift(s) to the District. Tim Taylor. Exhibit C-3. .


Contract(s)/Agreement(s). Exhibit C-4

a.    Woodward Academy Consortium. Chris Stensland. Exhibit C-4a.

b.   Instructional Training Agreement with Genesis Development. Darcy Cosens. Exhibit C-4b

c.   Imagine Learning Computer Program License Agreement. Shaeley Santiago.Exhibit C-4c

d.    Rosetta Stone License Agreement. Shaeley Santiago.
Exhibit C-4d


Continuous Open Enrollment Applications.
Tim Taylor. Exhibit C-5.


Action Item(s)

7:20 p.m. 12. School Improvement Advisory Committee Appointment 2017-18. Dan Andrews. Exhibit A-1
 7:25 p.m. 13. New Open Enrollment Applications. Tim Taylor. Exhibit A-2.
7:25 p.m. 14. Request for Modified Allowable Growth for Special Education Deficit. Chris Stensland. Exhibit A-3.

Board and Staff Item(s)

7:35 p.m. 15.

Items from the Board


Items from the Staff


Board Planning Calendar. Tim Taylor. Exhibit B-1.

7:45 p.m.  




Ames Community School District
September 25 , 2017

Board members will assemble in the Board Room of the District Offices Building, 2005 24th Street, Monday, September 25 immediately following adjournment of the regular meeting for a work session.

Click for a Printable Version of the September 25, 2017 Work Session  agenda 

(The Board respectfully requests that all cellular phones be turned off during the meeting.)

  1. Call to Order
  2. Approval of Agenda.
  3. Abstract of Votes. Chris Stenland. Exhibit O-1.
  4. Oath of Office to new Directors. Chris Stensland
  5. Election of President. Chris Stensland
  6. Election of Vice President. Chris Stensland
  7. Oath of Office to newly elected President and Vice-President. Chris Stensland.
  8. Reappoint Board Secretary/Treasurer. Board President
   9. Discussion Item(s)
   10. Board Organization and Structure. Exhibit O-2.
  11. Items from the Board.
  12. Items from the Staff.



Juicebox Interactive