Skip to content

Board Members

Shields CookSabrina Shields-Cook, President

Elected to the Board in 2019, Sabrina Shields-Cook has lived in Ames since 1989 and is a 1996 graduate of Ames High School. She received her B.A. in Anthropology from the University of Iowa and M.A. in Rhetoric and Professional Communication from Iowa State University. Sabrina is currently an Academic Adviser at Iowa State and previously worked in communications for a research institute on campus. She and her husband Nathan have four children in the Ames Community School District. 

Committees: Policy, Audit and Budget, Mental Health, SIAC


LenkaitisMichelle Lenkaitis, Vice President 

Elected to the board in 2019, Michelle Lenkaitis has lived in Ames since 2008.  She has a BS in Economics from Northern Illinois University and an MS in Agricultural Economics from the University of Illinois.  She has worked for Iowa State University since 2012 and is currently the Manager of Custodial Services for Facilities Planning and Management. Lenkaitis also worked with the US Department of Labor for over 20 years in Illinois, Ohio, and Wisconsin.  She and her husband, Vic, have four children:  Charlotte, Oscar, Sadie and Zach. 

Committees: Audit and Budget, Teaching and Learning, Mental Health, SIAC


Brett BeckerBrett Becker, Director

Brett graduated from college with a degree in Philosophy/Religious Studies, followed by earning his Master of Divinity degree from Fuller Seminary in Pasadena and his Doctor of Ministry at San Francisco Seminary.  Brett and his wife, Anita, have been in Ames since 2018. Brett is currently the pastor/head of staff at Collegiate Presbyterian Church in Ames. Brett and Anita have one daughter, Leah, a Ph.D candidate at the University of Illinois who is studying Early American Literature with the aim of teaching college students. Brett was elected to the board in 2021.
Committees: Teaching and Learning, Facilities, Mental Health

AllenBierbaum2Dr. Allen Bierbaum, Director

Bierbaum has lived in Ames since 1994, and is currently the Chief Technology Officer at Priority 5. He received his Masters and PhD in Computer Engineering from Iowa State University and has remained engaged in the community through a variety of groups. He currently serves as the vice-chair of the Ames Parks and Recreation Commission, and has been a member of Iowa Innovation Council, and Leadership Ames Class 29. Allen and his wife Lora have three children in the Ames school system.

Committees: Equity, Facilities, Ames Education Foundation


Alisa Frandsen, Director

Elected to Board 2015, Alisa Frandsen is an Ames resident since 1999. Currently a stay-at-home mother, Frandsen is the former Assistant Dean of Students/Director of Greek Affairs at Iowa State University. Frandsen holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics, Secondary Education Certificate (1997) and a Master of Higher Education degree (2001) from Iowa State University. She and her husband Matt have four children: Ali, Meredith, Joey, and Grant.

Committees: Equity, Policy, Facilities, Legislative Representative


Amy Erica Smith

Amy Erica Smith, Director

Elected to the Board in 2021, Amy Erica Smith has been an Ames resident since 2012. Amy Erica is an associate professor of political science at ISU, and a Carnegie Fellow. She holds a PhD in political science from the University of Pittsburgh, an MA in community and regional planning from Cornell University, and a BA in Latin American Studies from the University of Texas Austin. She and her husband, Tibi, have two children.

Committees: Teaching and Learning, Audit and Budget, Ames Education Foundation, County Conference Board


Kelly WinfreyKelly Winfrey, Director

Kelly received her Ph.D. in communication studies from the University of Kansas. She joined Iowa State University in 2014 and currently serves as an assistant professor in the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication. Kelly also teaches in the Leadership Studies program and works as coordinator of research and outreach at the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics. She was elected to the Board in 2021. 
Committees: Equity, Policy, SIAC, City Conference Board
Juicebox Interactive