Ames High School seniors Rachel Kim, Akash Mitra and Kushan Tyagi were selected as national semifinalists to advance to the final round of this year’s U.S. Presidential Scholars competition. From nearly 3.3 million graduating high school seniors, more than 4,300 students were identified as candidates in the program, and 565 semifinalists have been selected from across the countryas the pool from which the 2015 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be chosen. Only Six students from Iowa were selected as semifinalists.


L-R: Rachel Kim, Akash Mitra, Kushan Tyagi

The other three Iowa semifinalists are Laurel Dusek, Cedar Rapids George Washington High School; Edward Yao, Coralville West High School; and Rachel Schneider, Des Moines Roosevelt High School.