SciencolympiadlogoThe Ames Middle School team finished in first place in the Iowa State Science Olympiad competition  held March 25 at Coe College in Cedar Rapids.

First place medals:

  • James Lin and David Jiang for Invasive Species
  • Steven Tian and Henry Tang for Towers
  • Eddie Wei, Henry Tang and Jerry Han for Experimental Design
  • Emily Poag and Steven Tian for Meteorology
  • Quinn Harbison and Jixiang Li for Bottle Rocket
  • Quinn Harbison and Sivani Manimaran for Microbe Mission
  • Sophia Cordoba and Henry Tang for Ecology
  • David Jiang and Quinn Harbison for Disease Detective
  • Eddie Wei and Rishabh Swamy for Road Scholar
  • Seth Durbin and Emily Poag for Wright Stuff
  • James Lin and Jerry Han for Optics
  • Ziad Ibrahim and Sivani Manimaran for Fast Facts
  • Seth Durbin and Jerry Han for Rocks and Minerals

Second place medals:

  • Emily Poag and Anyang Yu for ¬†Crimebusters
  • Emily Poag and Anyang Yu for Write It/Do It
  • Steven Tian and Ziad Ibrahim for Scrambler
  • Sophia Cordoba and Jixiang Li for Dynamic Planet
  • Eddie Wei and Jixiang Li for Wind Power
  • Anyang Yu and Rishabh Swamy for Mission Possible

Third place medals:

David Jiang and Quinn Harbison for Anatomy

The team is coached by Peg Barbour, Mary Glenn and Kerri Marsh.