School Nurse & Health
Nurse / Health Associate
School Student Health
|Anna Weber RN, BSN – Nurse||Edwards / Sawyer|
|Edwards & Sawyer|
|Julie Brammer RN, BSN- Nurse||Fellows|
|Sara Thomsen RN, BSN – Nurse||Meeker|
|Kimberlee Mortale RN, BSN – Nurse||Mitchell / Northwood|
|Kayla Horner – Health Associate||Mitchell/Northwood|
|Josie Lemke RN, BSN – Nurse||Ames Middle School|
|Anna Metcalf – Health Associate||Ames Middle School|
|Monica Behning ARNP – Nurse||Ames High School|
|Jolene Drawbond – Health Associate||Ames High School|
Guidelines for keeping students home from school
When to keep your student home and when they can return to school :
- Fever: 100.0 or greater. Students can only return to school after they have been fever free for 24 hours without the use of fever reducing medications.
- Vomiting: Students can only return to school after they have been vomit free for 24 hours.
- Diarrhea: Students can only return to school after they have been diarrhea free for 24 hours.
- Cold symptoms: Cough, nasal congestion, red eyes, sore throat and/or headaches that disrupt the student’s learning or pose risk of transmission to others.
- Communicable disease: Communicable illnesses in which you have been advised to stay out of school until cleared to return by your physician.
Any other health condition that the school nurse is concerned for the health of the student and others.
- For 24 hours after the child is free of signs of fever, diarrhea or vomiting.
- Please make sure your phone number and contact information is up to date in Infinite Campus.
If a student becomes ill at school
If a student becomes ill while at school, the student must see the nurse for assessment. Students must not call or text parents.
The nurse will determine if the student needs to go home and will contact the student’s parents. Unless the nurse recommends that the student go home, the student’s absence will be unexcused.
For School Student Medical and Nursing questions contact School Nurse listed above.
School Medical Requirements
From the Iowa Department of Public Health
Attention 7th and 12th grade parents for the 2018-19 school year
The Iowa Department of Public Health has made changes to the Iowa Immunization law for the start of the 2017/18 school year. This change requires that all students entering 7th and 12th grade have the Meningococcal vaccine.
The change requires a one time dose of meningococcal vaccine received on or after 10 years of age for students in grade 7 and above, if born after September 15, 2004; and 2 doses of the vaccine for students in grade 12, if born after September 15, 1999; or 1 dose if received when students are 16 years of age or older.
Meningococcal disease is a life threatening illness that is caused by bacteria that infects the brain, blood, and spinal cord. It easily spreads in crowded settings and typically affects older teens and young adults.
All students entering 7th and 12th grade must have proof of having both the Meningococcal vaccine before school starts in August, unless the student has a Certificate of Immunization Exemption.
Your son/daughter will NOT be allowed to start the school year on August 23, 2018 without documentation of the Meningococcal vaccination. There will be no grace/extension period for the implementation of this requirement.
McFarland Clinic, Primary Health Care, and Mary Greeley Medical Center all offer these vaccinations. Please contact them to schedule an appointment.
Reminder: 7th grade students also need to get the Tdap (Tetanus, Pertussis, and Diphtheria) vaccination before the start of the school year.