Board of Directors
Board Minutes
Board Policies
Board Goals
Facilities Documents
Public Records Request
Board Comittees

Ames Community School District Board of Directors 2013-2014
Luke Deardorff
2409 Yorkshire Circle
Ames, IA. 50010

(515) 450-0463

Elected to the Board 2011
Life-long Ames resident, born 1980.
Vice President and Commercial Lender, First National Bank, since 2002.
Ames High Graduate Class of 1998
Married to Amber; three children; Elaina (8), Natalya (6), and Elijah (3).
B.S., Business (Management Information Systems), Iowa State University, 2002
Committee assignment: Real Estate Liquidation Advisory Committee.

Tim Rasmussen
Vice President

926 Idaho Ave., 50014

(515) 450-2466

Elected to the Board  2013
Life-long Ames resident
Manager at Alfred’s Carpet & Decorating
Six years experience as elementary school teacher.
Married to Michelle; three sons, Wyatt (Ames High School class of 2013), Cael (seventh grade) and Cameron (Ames High School class of 2015) .
B.S. Elementary Education, Iowa State University.
Committee assignments: County Conference Board, Policy Committee, Teaching and Learning Committee, Technology Committee.

Jane Acker
2107 Graeber St
Ames, IA 50014


Appointed to the Board 2013
Ames resident
Retired. Previously mentoring programs manager at Youth and Shelter Services
Education: B.A. History - Stanford University; M.A. Chinese Studies - Yale University
Committee assignments: Ames Education Foundation Board,  City Conference Board, Physical Plant, Equipment Levy Committee, Teaching and Learning Committee.

  Rodney A. Briggs Member    
  307 Franklin Avenue
Ames, IA. 50014

(515) 291-5946

Elected to the Board 2011
Ames resident since 1999
Jail Division, Story County Sheriff’s Office, since 2005
Married to Heather; two daughters and one son attending Ames Community Schools since 2009.
Served 13 years in Iowa National Guard, ranked Sergeant First Class (E7), October 2009.
A.S. Criminal Justice, Des Moines Area Community College
Committee assignments: Audit and Budget Oversight Committee, Insurance Committee, Policy Committee, Technology Committee.

Mike Espeset

2402 Yorkshire Circle
Ames, IA 50010

(515) 268-9463

 Elected to Board 2011, re-elected 2013.
Ames resident since 1991
President, Story Construction Co.
Married to Ann; sons, Jack (Ames High School class of 2012), Nate (eighth grade); daughter, Claire (12th grade)
B.S. , Construction Engineering, Iowa State University
Committee assignments: Facilities Committee, Iowa Association of School Boards Delegate Assembly, Legislative Liaison, Physical Plant and Equipment Levy Committee.

Mike Espeset
Teresa L. Simpson
3121 Aspen Road Ames, IA. 50014

(515) 460- 4482

Elected to the Board 2011
Ames resident since 1981
Registered Nurse, Risk/Quality Director, McFarland Clinic, Certified Professional in Healthcare Risk Management
Married to Marty (Ames High School Class of 1979); daughter, Lisa Marie, son, Grant; both attended Ames Community Schools.
Member National Association, Healthcare Quality, American Society of Healthcare Risk Management; member Illinois Risk Management Association.
Committee assignments:  Diversity Advocacy Committee, Real Estate Liquidation Advisory Committee. 

Bill Talbot

2410 Bristol Drive
Ames, IA

(515) 232-1761

Elected to Board 2009, re-elected 2013.
Married to Jill; two adult children.
Partner, Newbrough Law Firm.
J.D., Drake University; B.A., Business Management, University of Northern Iowa.
Committee assignments: Audit and Budget Oversight Committee, City Conference Board, County Conference Board, Facilities Committee..

It is the policy of the Ames Community School District to maintain a nondiscriminatory environment in every aspect of the operation of the District. The District shall provide equal educational and employment opportunities without regard to color, sex, race, national origin, religion, creed, age, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, pregnancy, disability, or socioeconomic status in its educational programs and activities or its employment and personnel policies. Dr. Tim Taylor, Superintendent, is the reporting officer for affirmative action, desegregation, and discrimination. Any questions should be directed to: Dr. Tim E. Taylor - Educational Services Center- 415 Stanton Ave.- Ames, IA 50014– (515) 268-6610

This site best viewed @ 1024 x 768 resolution or higher
415 Stanton Ave •Ames , Iowa 50014 • (515) 268 - 6600 • Copyright  © Ames Community School District 2006

Email the Webmaster Last Updated 12-28-10