Skip to content

Articles from May 2016

Congratulations to the Class of 2016

Each of the 277 Ames High School seniors who graduated Sunday, May 22,  has a story to tell. Each has worked hard to complete the rigorous requirements of an education in Ames Schools. And each has benefitted from the support of families, the community and the people who make up this District.

Here are highlights of what students told The Ames Tribune.

Bryan Hoff said he attended 13 different schools before graduating.

“Ames by far has been the most welcoming,” he said. “My first week of school her, even though it’s so big—I’m used to class sizes of like 20, just a lot smaller schools so just walking down the hallway not thinking anyone knew who I am—they came up to me and said, ‘Hi Bryan how’s it going?’” See more.

Hannah Schwartz, who’s attending West Point, thanked her weightlifting teacher Tracy Rial for helping her with her admissions fitness test and English teacher Kate Engelkes for helping her write her application essay.

“[Engelkes] just really helped me with my writing, and we really had a good connection, and this year she was instrumental in helping me with my application to West Point,” Schwartz said.  See more.

Caleb Litster said he’s been so inspired by teachers at Ames High School like math teacher Stuart Sparkman and English teacher Joe Brekke, he’s thinking of becoming a math teacher.

“Both of these teachers they really, really care about their students and that makes a big difference,” he said. “That’s the kind of teacher that I want to be.” See more.

web1_05-24-Ames-High-graduation-3_0

Photo by Nirmalendu Mamjumdar

Read More

District Administration moving to new offices

The Ames Community School District will begin moving to new District Offices at 2005 24th St. on Monday, May 9.  The offices at 415 Stanton Ave. will close permanently at the end of the business day on Friday, May 6. Staff will not be available for walk-in appointments between 3 p.m., Friday, May 6, and 9 a.m., Thursday, May 12.  Staff will be available by email and will have limited availability by telephone during the move.  The offices at 2005 24th St. will be open to the public, Thursday, May 12.

District Registrar Barbara Peterson said families may continue to register students online for the 2016-17 school year.

How to reach District Staff:

  • Superintendent Tim Taylor: Phone: 515-268-6660. Email: tim.taylor@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Associate Superintendent Mandy Ross: Phone: 515-268-6620. Email: mandy.ross@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Chief Financial Officer Chris Stensland: Phone: 515-268-6640. Email: chris.stensland@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Registrar Barbara Peterson: Phone: 515-268-6605. Email: barbara.peterson@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Director of School, Community and Media Relations Kathy Hanson: Phone: 515-268-6651. Email: kathy.hanson@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Director of Student Programs Yonas Michael: Phone: 515-268-6628. Email: yonas.michael@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Director of Special Education Darcy Cosens: Phone: 515-268-6626. Email: darcy.cosens@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Director of Technology Karl Hehr: Phone: 515-268-6670. Email: karl.hehr@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Transportation Coordinator Dee Hehr: Phone: 515-268-6640. Email: transportation@ames.k12.ia.us
  • Production Coordinator Rita Parrish: Phone: 515-268-6675. Email: rita.parrish@ames.k12.ia.us
Read More
Juicebox Interactive